Grace period

I don’t know what else to call this unfamiliar 3-week period. Classes and exams are finished, but graduation, if there is such a thing, is still almost 3 weeks away. Homework is still trickling in, so I would say the students have a bit of a grace period.

Since February, we have been meeting on Zoom. I’m grateful for Zoom; without it, I’m not sure we could have finished. But it was not the same. I appreciate the patience and determination of all my students. We completed the semester, and no one got hurt.

Near the end of the term, there was a beautiful (and safe) commissioning service in the chapel. Our near graduates were sent off with God’s blessing and our prayers and good wishes. Social distancing was strictly enforced, guests were not invited, and masks could only be taken off for a quick photo. While our masks were off, there was to be absolutely no talking.

Commissioning with Dr. Kim and Yolanda.
Yolanda has helped us with many of our social hikes and has kept our morale high!
…and with Dr. Kim and Gam Ja.
Although Gam Ja was never formally my student, we spent much time together this year perfecting his doctoral dissertation. It’s a great joy to see him succeed and graduate.
Nearly laying on of hands!
Yes, we are serious about COVID-19
With Mungdang
My student and a fine musician.
He has grown so much during his time at LTS!

In the last issue of the blog, I told you about at new project with the church of my youth, Elim Lutheran in Marshalltown, Iowa. This very simple endeavor has been one of my greatest joys this semester. As I told you, two students come each week to read the appointed Scripture lessons for the coming Sunday. I send them to Bruce at Elim, and he splices them into the AM radio broadcast. No big deal. No money involved. No stress (as far as I know.)

It has been so rewarding. Many students have told me (in a variety of ways) how meaningful it has been for them. They are proclaiming the Word in a place they don’t know and can’t see. And several at Elim have also expressed the lift these voices bring to the service. I have had the pleasure of listening laterto the full service—the familiar Midwestern English to begin, followed by a voice from Hong Kong, Myanmar, or Germany. After singing or saying the Psalm, another voice from here, and finally, the Gospel read by Pastor Jack. So simple. So beautiful to my ears. Two unrelated groups of people, sharing the Word with each other, learning about each other, and caring for each other. I have such gratitude to all involved, and I am glad that we will continue for the foreseeable future!

Many of the 121 steps up to the
Lutheran Theological Seminary

I’ll leave you with the May, 2020 version of a picture from my first days in Hong Kong. I love the meandering stairs that take me from the road to the center of campus. As I told you earlier, the 121 steps remind us of Psalm 121, labeled “A Song of Ascents.” No kidding. After a 25-minute walk up from my apartment, I still have these steps ahead of me.

What a great psalm for these difficult days:

I life up my eyes to the hills—from where will my help come?

My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber.

He who keeps Israel with neither slumber nor sleep.

 

12 responses

  1. This blog was very moving! To see what you and the students have accomplished in spite of the virus, to hear about your Elim church, and think about the word from all corners of the earth, was beautiful and inspiring. You and your message are such a bright light in the midst of fear and darkness. Thank you!

    1. Thank you, Ruth! It has been such a simple, powerful project. As always, thanks for your encouragement!

  2. Beautifully written, as always. That staircase has turned into quite a metaphor. Love these thoughtful updates, Matt.

    1. Thank you for your kind words and all your encouragement. Yes, the staircase is a powerful metaphor. It’s humbling at times, especially when combined with heat and humidity. But I want to keep climbing!

      1. Jane Ryan and I are together, celebrating her birthday. We just raised a glass of wine in your honor! Seriously, we have thinking about you and loved seeing you in the ZLC Virtual Choir. You’re looking good, Matt!

      2. Thank you, Joyce and Jane. I was so happy to be in the choir again! It felt strange to sing by myself (and it didn’t sound so great) but so fun to see and hear it all put together!

  3. I may have asked before: “From Zumbro to Vah to Pearl” Tell me again who or what Vah and Pearl are.
    Matt, Although you missed coffee Zoom last week, I really appreciate your blog, as usual. All I can say is that I hope you are getting an equal amount of boost from your students as they get from you. Sorry you had to wear a tie….
    Funeral service for Tom Moon was held outside next to the columbarium. I think about 30 were there spaced safely and masked. Vern did such a great tribute. About 10 of the coffee guys were there.
    Is Hong Kong still doing well with the virus? They sure don’t want to follow the example of our illustrious leader. Stay well and enjoy your newest friends.
    Clare & June

    1. Hi Clare and June! Zumbro is our church and our river; the Vah is a beautiful river that flows by Martin, Slovakia. I liked the image of rivers. When I found out I was going to Hong Kong, I didn’t know what to do with my blog title! Hong Kong is on the ocean! But it is also at the mouth of the great Pearl River, a major geographical feature of China, a center of trade, and a meeting place of so many cultures. So, the river journey continues. (Don’t look for a fourth river!)

  4. Such an inspiring and meaningful post! It was so interesting to see the red cords tied around the graduates’ waists instead of gowns, stoles, or caps. I love noting those cultural differences! It was wonderful to see the pride of accomplishment in their faces too! The 121 steps/Psalm 121 connection is one of those amazing things you will never forget, and it’s a daily grounding in God’s Word and promise to us. Thank you, Matt for your continued wisdom and perspective as you thoughtfully share your journey in the blog. The blog from river to river to river also has such a connection to Living Waters!! Sending hugs from Iowa!! Tim and Michelle

    1. Thank you, Michelle. We still hope to do the caps and gowns in June, but the commissioning was a bit more holy. It reminded me of my commissioning services, including in Bratislava. The students at LTS are answering God’s call, and now we send them off to do God’s work.

      My body will never forget the 121 steps! They are a symbol of the physical challenge of this job. There are academic and spiritual challenges, but there are also steep hills, intense heat, and long days. I’m loving it, but I need to stay active if I intend to finish this mission!

  5. Mary Jane Oakland | Reply

    What an amazing, difficult but amazing academic year! What a blessing you have been to your students, and how they have blessed you. That cooperative adventure with the Elim congregation in Marshalltown – priceless for understanding the Body of Christ.

    1. Yes, the students have blessed me. My friends and congregations have blessed and supported me, too. I love it when we can connect with others from around the world!

Leave a comment

Our Iowa Heritage

Recalling pleasant things and taking the time to dwell on them.

I Hope You Dance

Jessie's J3 and YAGM Blog

Markus + Micah

Living slow and eating well.

The Sheng Player

A guy who plays woodwind instruments...

What's Rachel Up To?

World Traveler from Small Town Minnesota

The World Through Curls

these curls are on the move

Sperling Smiles

Coast to Coast charity Bike ride

barretos2slovakia

Anthony and Blythe's journey serving at the Center for Christian Education in Martin, Slovakia